Monday, February 27, 2017

Ooops! Trending...

Franklin Drilon Has Been Removed From His Senate Leadership Post Due to Pacquiao’s Motion!

Senate President Franklin Drilon, who has served the Senate as its leader throughout the years, was removed from his post following Senator Manny Pacquiao’s motion.

On February 27, Monday, Pacquiao motioned that the Senate President's Pro Tempore position be vacant. Drilon didn’t oppose the Senator and promptly stood up from his seat.

He said, “I will not interpellate Senator Pacquiao. I second the motion.” After this, Pacquiao went on to nominate Senator Ralph Recto to be Drilon’s replacement. The motion was seconded by Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero.

Among the 23 Senators present, 17 of them voted in favor of Recto being the new Senate President. The move was enacted when Liberal Party member, Senator Leila De Lima, was arrested recently.

Three Liberal Senators, including Drilon, along with their ally of committee chairmanship, were stripped off of their positions. Senator Francis Pangilinan, Paolo Benigno Aquino IV, and Senator Risa Hontiveros were also voted out.

Drilon was the second highest senate official and an ex-officio member of all the standing committees in the chamber and in Commission on Appointments.

It was reported that apart from being aligned with De Lima, the Senators also got voted out because of their involvement in the 31st anniversary celebration of EDSA Revolution. All of them attended the event clad in black attire.

No one objected Pacquiao’s motion and even four senators seconded it. The four Senators then joined the minority bloc together with Senator Antonio Trillanes IV.

What do you think about Pacquiao’s move? Did Drilon and the rest of the senators deserve to be ousted from their posts? Tell us your comments below!

Source: GMA
Subscribe to this Blog via Email :